top of page
Search

Beer as Climate Science Outreach

Living in San Diego has turned me into a bit of a beer enthusiast. With so many breweries all throughout this awesome city, there is always something new to try.


But what does this have to do with climate science?


As a part of the Homeward Bound leadership program we are tasked with engaging in our communities to raise awareness about our changing climate.


So of course, I thought, how can I bring some delicious beer into this outreach?


It didn't take me long to decide to reach out to one of my favorite breweries in San Diego, Wavelength.


Wavelength is a science outreach themed brewery in Vista that has science talks every Friday and often brings out the 'Big Friendly Telescope' to allow patrons to get a glimpse at Jupiter while sipping on a cold beer.


It's a one of a kind place.


I approached them and asked if they would be interested in brewing a collaboration beer with me to support the Homeward Bound program.... and they said YES!


After a long day of brewing and few days of fermenting, the beer was born -- a delicious stout we named 'Polar Night'.


And now as a result of that beer we are having a few science outreach events.


First, was 'Climate Science Bingo' on a Friday evening at Wavelength that promoted women's leadership in climate action. (September 13th, 2019)


Next up is, 'One Butch & Lots of Science Fun' at Gossip Grill, a night of climate science in the pub that supports diversity in STEMM. (November 7th, 2019)


And after that... who knows!


What I do know is that this opportunity to bring science into a somewhat unlikely environment has been incredible and meaningful and I am so thankful for this beer!


The last stop for 'Polar Night' will come this December.


Where, along side 99 other women in STEMM, I will sip the cold beer on the shores of Antarctica as we plan our collaborative efforts to mitigate and adapt to climate change.


If you're interested in learning more about the beer, climate change, or what you can do make your community more resilient in the face of our changing climate - reach out to me!






36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page