top of page
Search

Meet Kristin! Climate Advocate & NOAA Corps Officer



Check out Kristin's website for tons more climate resources.


What’s your name?

Kristin Raja


Where are you from? Where do you currently live?

I grew up in Houston, Texas and currently live near Santa Barbara, California


Where did you go to school and what did you study?

Trinity University, B.S. in Engineering Science


Where are you in your career & what do you do?

I’m a Lieutenant in the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Commissioned Officer Corps (NOAA Corps). I drive research ships for NOAA, and currently I serve as the Vessel Operations Coordinator for the Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary.


What do you like to do in your free time?

I love swimming and everything to do with the water


Why did you apply to Homeward Bound?

I was keeping an eye out for leadership training when I heard about this program from another NOAA Corps Officer in the 2nd HB cohort. It’s awesome to have the opportunity to improve my skills while networking with other women in STEM who are also passionate about the environment. Purposeful leadership training is empowering!


Describe yourself in three words.

Passionate, persistent, change-maker


Who is your favorite activist and why?

Greta Thunberg – she tells it like it is and doesn’t worry about the critics.


What inspires you?

I’m inspired by the huge groundswell of people all over the world demanding action on climate change. We need everyone!


What is your favorite thing about your career?

I love the variety of science missions I get to facilitate.


What's the most interesting thing you can see out of your office or kitchen window?

Current office: Humpback whales

Previous office: Polar bear cubs and Orcas


What are you absolutely determined to do?

Reverse climate change


Where is the most interesting place you’ve been?

The Arctic


Why did you decide to do the work you are doing now?

I majored in engineering with an eye on applying technical knowledge to environmental problems. I was also interested in active duty service and looked into the Navy and Coast Guard a couple years into college. My senior year I discovered the NOAA Corps with its mission to facilitate science, and it felt like a perfect fit: service plus science!


Who inspires you to be better?

My husband


If you could live anywhere, where would it be?


A tropical island where I could go swimming and diving all day in warm clear water with pristine reefs.


138 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page